This site uses technical, analytics and third-party cookies.
By continuing to browse, you accept the use of cookies.

Preferences cookies

About us

The Embassy’s core functions, according to the Vienna Convention of 1961 on Diplomatic Relations, are to represent Italy in Canada, to protect Italy’s interests and those of its citizens within the limits of international law, to negotiate with the Government of Canada, to gather information, through legal means, on conditions and events in Canada; to continue to build friendly ties and to develop economic, cultural, and scientific relations.

The Embassy of Italy in Canada includes a Consular Office that has territorial jurisdiction for the City of Ottawa, the Counties of Carleton, Dundas, Glengarry, Grenville, Prescott, Russell, and Stormont in Ontario and the Outaouais Region of Québec.

The Embassy also coordinates a network of three Consulates General (in Montreal, Toronto, and Vancouver), two Italian Cultural Institutes (in Montreal and Toronto), the Italian Trade Commission (in Montreal and Toronto), and the Italian National Tourist Board (in Toronto).