This site uses cookies to provide a better experience. Continuing navigation accept the use of cookies by us OK





Situation in Italy

On March 9, 2020, Giuseppe Conte, President of the Italian Council of Ministers, approved the introduction of additional measures (DPCM 9 marzo 2020 - english) to contain and prevent the spread of the COVID-19 virus in Italy. The new legislation extends the measures approved on March 8 (DPCM 8 marzo 2020 - english) to the entire country.

On March 11, 2020, Italian Prime Minister Giuseppe Conte issued a new special order (the so-called #IoRestoaCasa Decree) with measures to contain and manage the COVID-19 emergency, which have been implemented throughout the country.

In accordance with the new combined regulations, the Crisis Unit of the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs advises that:

  • Italian citizens and foreign nationals who reside in Italy and who are currently abroad may, where the means of transportation are operating, travel to Italy to return to their places of residence;
  • similarly, Italian citizens who live abroad, foreign non-resident citizens, and tourists may, where the means of transportation are operating, leave Italy to return to their home countries and places of residence;
  • travel to and from Italy is also permitted for proven work-related reasons (this provision also applies to cross-border workers);

Please be advised that there are currently no restrictions on the shipment of goods.

A Ministerial Decree was issued on March 17, 2020, imposing 14-day self-isolation to anyone returning to Italy, regardless of whether showing any signs of illness. More information and the full text of the Decree are available here

On March 22, 2020, the Prime Minister has issued a new Decree with further measures to contain and manage the COVID-19 emergency, which have been implemented throughout the country. The FAQs with regards to the application of the decree can be accessed here.


Situation in Canada

Effective March 18, 2020, new measures have been introduced to contain the spread of the virus in Canada.

All foreigners are now banned from entering the country. Exceptions are being made for permanent residents, aircrews, diplomats, and close relatives of Canadian citizens.

As specified on March 12, according to the official indications of the Canadian Government, all travelers authorized to enter the country are required to:

  • contact within 24 hours of arrival in Canada the Health Authorities of the Province or Territory in which they will reside.
  • self-isolation at home for a period of 14 days, avoiding contact with individuals in precarious health condition and elderly people, and refraining from receiving visitors at home;
  • carefully monitor their health and wash hands frequently and thoroughly.

The provision also applies to entries from Italy in the 14 days preceding the date of issue of the notice (12 March 2020).


  • there are significant restrictions on air traffic;
  • cruises with more than 500 passengers will not be able to dock at Canadian ports until next July;
  • Canadian citizens are recommended to avoid any non-essential overseas travel.

As of March 21, Canada and the USA have mutually agreed to close their border to all non-essential travel for an initial 30-day period. Freight transportation services are exempted.

The Canadian government has created a telephone line dedicated to information on the coronavirus: +1-833-784-4397.


Provincial provisions

Some Provinces may have specific provisions in place. Please refer to the following links for more up-to-date information and contacts:


Useful links

The situation is constantly evolving. It is, therefore, recommended to refer to the latest updates on the Canadian Government's Travel Advice website and on Farnesina's Crisis Unit Viaggiare Sicuri portal.

For more information and updates on COVID-19:

  • in Italy click here;
  • in Canada click here.